SRetail Merchandising College of Design

Advisory Board

Awarded the College of Design's 2019 Outstanding Team Service Award, the Retail Merchandising Advisory Board is composed of professional representing various areas of the retail merchandising  industry, retail merchandising programs faculty and selected College of Design administrators. The board serves as a sounding board for decisions the program must make, helps us challenge assumptions about the profession, and increase our awareness of changing technology, trends and practices that will influence our students’ readiness for professional service. The board provides an opportunity to build relationships, develop resources and strengthen our identity within the professional world.


External Members

Jamie Curtic, Decor Apparel

Derrek Geary, Macy's

Cari Gelle, Deluxe Corp

Bridget Fritz, Kohl's

Nancy Gross, Minnesota Textile Center

Jill Hamburger, retail consultant, president of board

Heather Harnisch, Target Corp

Chad Hetherington, The Stable

Lauretta Jaye, DoTopia

Kyle Johansen, Hom Furniture/Gabberts/Dock 86

Amanda Morell, Forever 21, secretary of board

Cheryl Olson, Bluestem Brands Inc.

Erin Oman, Select Comfort

Sandy Praus, Cargil

Catherine Rogers, Evine

Kim Schiek, Buckle

Brenda Schlauderaff, Mainstream Boutique

Jennifer Soutchenko, Target Corp.

Andrew Ward, Merchology

Christopher Woodbury, Best Buy


Retail Merchandising Program Faculty

Hyunjoo Im

Hye-Young Kim

Jaye Thompson

Juanjuan Wu

Peggy Lord


Retail Merchandising Student Leadership Board

Rachel Duerksen

Claire Erickson

Kerstin Wetterstrom

Other DHA/CDes Members

Carol Strohecker, CDes Dean

Sauman (Sue) Chu, CDes Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Steve Yang, CDes Assistant Dean for Student Services

Lori Mollberg, CDes Director of Alumni Relations and Continuing Education

Wanda Loerch, Undergraduate Program Advisor

Elizabeth (Missy) Bye, DHA Department Head

Kathy Guiney, DHA Administrative Assistant

Contact Information

Undergraduate Student Services
12 McNeal Hall, 1985 Buford Ave., St. Paul, MN 55108
107 Rapson Hall, 89 Church Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455
P: 612-624-1717 | E:

General Information
P: 612-626-9068 | E:

© 2020 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement